Make: Cross stitch micro:bit

At the Raspberry Pi Birthday Party in the weekend I got to meet lots of great people. One of them was Vicky from Yorkshire who was sitting on a comfy sofa doing some crochet!

She shared the pattern for the pi with me: https://www.stitchfiddle.com/en/c/sj3o3b-7lii1m

Using the same website I decided to make a micro:bit cross stitch. The design was quite pixelated and I spent a long time editing it.

This is the pattern I used.

patternDownload it in PDF form

Errors

I miscounted a line at the bottom between Pin 1 and Pin 2. I miscounted the whole project and the bottom is very close to the edge and fraying!

Tips

I used beads for the LEDs to make them stand out. If you want to stitch in a frame, add the beads at the end as they get caught in a frame and pop out easily.

To do:

I might put real buttons in the button holes and haven’t decided whether to fill in the empty pin holes with white thread or not. I will post another picture of the finished project when I have it framed.

 

20170310_110613

micro:bit cross stitch

20170310_110629

micro:bit for scale

One thought on “Make: Cross stitch micro:bit

Leave a Reply

